About the Fire District

Hopewell Township Fire District No. 1 is an autonomous entity responsible for the prevention and extinguishment of fires and the regulation of fire hazards within the geographic boundaries of Hopewell Township, Mercer County, New Jersey. The Fire District is funded through a fire tax and governed by a five member Board of Fire Commissioners.
Fire Department badge


Hopewell Township Fire District No. 1 also provides, through shared services agreements, fire inspection services to Hopewell and Pennington Boroughs. The uniformed staff of the Hopewell Valley Bureau of Fire Safety perform all commercial fire safety inspections, and all pre-sale residential inspections for Hopewell Township, Hopewell Borough, and Pennington Borough.


The annual election for the Hopewell Township Fire District, Board of Fire Commissioners will be held on Saturday, February 17, 2018 from 2:00 PM until 9:00 PM, at the Hopewell Township Municipal Services Building, located at 201 Washington Crossing-Pennington Rd., Titusville, NJ. 

In addition to voting on the annual budget for the Fire District, two Fire Commissioner positions will be elected. One position is for a three-year term and one position is for a one-year term. Hopewell Township residents desiring to serve as a Fire Commissioner may obtain a nominating petition form from the Hopewell Township Clerk or from the Fire District Office at 201 Washington Crossing-Pennington Rd., Titusville, NJ. Completed petitions must be filed with the Fire District or the Hopewell Township Clerk no later than 5:00 pm on Friday, January 19, 2018 to ensure placement of the candidate's name on the ballot.

Donald C. Kintzel, Secretary

Hopewell Township Board of Fire Commissioners  

Fire Prevention Week 2017
Be the neighbor your neighbors cant live without volunteer